Tag: Albums

HAYDEN POWELL // Circadian Rhythm & Blues

HPT1 1


Hayden Powell: trumpet and firebird
Eyolf Dale: piano
Jo Skaansar: bass

Øyvind Røsrud Gundersen: electronics

Released September 25th 2015
Double cd, download, Streaming
Catalogue: PSK103

Listen Buy album

Circadian Rhythm & Blues is trumpeter Hayden Powell’s most personal and ambitious work to date. The double album kicks off with a set of tunes from Powell’s acoustic trio and continues into a new realm of solo improvisations, soundscapes and electronics.

The term Circadian Rhythm refers to the body’s internal clock and underlying cycles of sleep and metabolism. Circadian rhythms also respond to impulses such as light and temperature. There’s a similar duality in music. We all have our own aesthetics, but must relate to our surroundings, other musicians, the audience and our own feelings and aspirations. On this album, Powell and his ensemble guide us through a 24-hour cycle, with songs such as “Reveille”, “Late Night Politics” and “Sleepless”, all conveying a range of different moods.

Powell explains:
“In the summer of 2014 the trio started working on new tracks – we wanted to make something more extrovert and punchy. During the same period I started work on a solo album, which, for me, represents a long-held ambition in my development as a working musician. The two projects began to ripen simultaneously and ideas and inspirations were shared between them. Many of the basic musical ideas are similar but the end result has taken very different forms influenced by those with whom I’ve worked and by where I’ve been. Hence the reference to the concept of Circadian Rhythm, which I also find fascinating in its own sense”.

The trio section of “Circadian Rhythm & Blues” features Powell’s regular ensemble of recent years: pianist Eyolf Dale and bassist Jo Skaansar. Both are sensitive and intuitive musicians who provide an ideal partnership for Powell’s lyrical and dynamic trumpet playing. This part of the album was recorded in Copenhagen, during an intensive three-day stay in the studio The Village, with the engineer August Wanngren.

The solo part has been created in collaboration with producer Øyvind Røsrud Gundersen (Hanne Kolstø, Atlanta, Siri Nilsen) and recorded in Tøyen Church in Oslo – a room with a wonderful acoustic. The whole thing was mastered by Morgan Nicolaysen at Propeller Mastering. Jens Jørgen Carelius Krogsveen designed the cover, which includes images by the photographer Anne Valeur. The album will be released on Powell’s own label Periskop and is available on a double-CD and via digital streaming services.

Hayden Powell has previously released two albums, The Attic in 2011 and Roots and Stems in 2013.

Hayden2.3 2

Track list

Disc 1

Hayden Powell – trumpet
Eyolf Dale – piano
Jo Skaansar – double bass

01 Reveille
02 Truffles
03 Cobalt
04 Homework
05 The Cat’s Idea
06 Mascot
07 Guardian
08 Late Night Politics

Disc 2

Hayden Powell – trumpet and firebird

01 Suddenly Alone
02 Pepper-Upper
03 Red Sky at Night
04 Continuum
05 Crosswind
06 Sleepless
07 Cantillation
08 Ville de Montréal
09 Water Song
10 Cat in a Box
11 Wakeup Call (remix)


Executive Producer: Hayden Powell

Disc 1 recorded on February 8th-10th at The Village Studios, Copenhagen, by August Wanngren.
Mixed by August Wanngren at We Know Music Studios, Copenhagen.

Disc 2 recorded and mixed by Øyvind Røsrud Gundersen in Tøyen Kirke and Adamstuen during December 2014 and April 2015. Co-produced by Gundersen and Powell.

Mastered by Morgan Nicolaysen at Propeller Mastering, Oslo.

Artwork by Jens Jørgen Carelius Krogsveen. Photos by Anne Valeur.

All compositions by Hayden Powell except Mascot by Eyolf Dale.
Electronics on Sleepless by Øyvind Røsrud Gundersen.

Wakeup Call (remix) by Øyvind Røsrud Gundersen and Hayden Powell, based on recordings by Hayden Powell Trio.

HAYDEN POWELL // Roots & Stems

HPT collage 1

Hayden Powell: trumpet
Eyolf Dale: piano
Jo Skaansar: bass

Released on October 25th 2013
Double cd, download, Streaming
Catalogue: PSK101 (cd), PSK102  (vinyl)

Listen Buy CD Buy Vinyl

Two years after the success of his debut album The Attic, trumpeter Hayden Powell is ready to release its sequel, Roots and Stems. The album is an intimate encounter with a captivating trio, putting pianist Eyolf Dale and bassist Jo Skaansar alongside Powell. Recorded in Rainbow Studio by Jan Erik Kongshaug and featuring excellent artwork by Jens Carelius, this album is worth looking out for.

Roots and Stems consists of ten songs that might be described as melodic, acoustic chamber jazz. Most are initially composed by Powell and then further developed by the band through numerous concert performances. Having worked with a number of guests on the previous album, Powell is now stripping away everything but the trio, giving each musician more space and responsibility. The result is a transparent, open sound with a wide dynamic range and original arrangements.

The band wasted no time and recorded the entire album in just one day. To ensure the very best sound, this was done at Jan Erik Kongshaug’s legendary Rainbow Studio in Oslo, Norway. Towards the end of the session, friends and colleagues were invited to an intimate in-studio concert. The resulting special energy led to the band using almost exclusively these recordings on the album.

The trio is now looking forward to its release concert at the Norwegian National Jazz Scene Victoria on 30th October. This is the largest and most important stage for jazz in Norway, and the group’s last album release two years ago filled the hall to the brim with 450 spectators. The album will be the first to be released on Powell’s new label, Periscope, and is distributed through Musikkoperatørene. The cover was designed by musician/designer Jens Carelius and reflects the balance between freedom and control found in the music.

Hayden Powell is a trumpet player and composer based in Oslo. Powell is originally from England but moved to Norway as a child and grew up in Molde on the western fjords. He works in a variety of styles with an emphasis on jazz and improvised music, and released his debut album as a band leader, The Attic, in September 2011. Powell is also a member of the highly original brass quartet Magic Pocket, and has worked with Trondheim Jazz Orchestra as both a musician and composer. He has recorded and released music by artists as diverse as Iro Haarla, Solfrid Molland and Jens Carelius.

Eyolf Dale has released two solo albums in his own name of which the last, Hometown Interludes, was released earlier this autumn. He has also released several albums with the sax/piano duo Albatrosh (on Rune Grammofon), and has written music for Trondheim Jazz Orchestra.

Jo Skaansar is a highly sought-after bass player on the Norwegian jazz scene. In 2010, he released the album Den Blåaste Natt, featuring lyrics by Norwegian poet Edvard Hoem, and has contributed to a number of concerts and productions with musicians such as Trygve Seim, Per Jørgensen and Jon Larsen.


Track list

1. Roots and Stems
2. Bassclarinetteblues 3. Skysailing
4. Maysong
5. Self-Calibration #3 6. Intro
7. Cuestions
8. Fougner
9. Folk
10. Quiet Exit



Produced by Hayden Powell
Recorded on 16th November 2012 at Rainbow Studio,
Oslo, by Peer Espen Ursfjord and Jan Erik Kongshaug
Mixed and mastered by Jan Erik Kongshaug at Rainbow Studio, Oslo Artwork by Jens Jørgen Carelius Krogsveen
All compositions by Hayden Powell, except Quiet Exit by Eyolf Dale