Hayden Powell // Roots & Stems

Roots and Stems 970x970

Hayden Powell: trumpet
Eyolf Dale: piano
Jo Skaansar: bass

Released October 25th 2013
Double cd, download, Streaming
Catalogue: PSK101 (cd), PSK102  (vinyl)

Listen Buy album

Two years after the success of his debut album The Attic, trumpeter Hayden Powell is ready to release its sequel, Roots and Stems. The album is an intimate encounter with a captivating trio, putting pianist Eyolf Dale and bassist Jo Skaansar alongside Powell. Recorded in Rainbow Studio by Jan Erik Kongshaug and featuring excellent artwork by Jens Carelius, this album is worth looking out for.

Roots and Stems consists of ten songs that might be described as melodic, acoustic chamber jazz. Most are initially composed by Powell and then further developed by the band through numerous concert performances. Having worked with a number of guests on the previous album, Powell is now stripping away everything but the trio, giving each musician more space and responsibility. The result is a transparent, open sound with a wide dynamic range and original arrangements.

The band wasted no time and recorded the entire album in just one day. To ensure the very best sound, this was done at Jan Erik Kongshaug’s legendary Rainbow Studio in Oslo, Norway. Towards the end of the session, friends and colleagues were invited to an intimate in-studio concert. The resulting special energy led to the band using almost exclusively these recordings on the album.

The trio is now looking forward to its release concert at the Norwegian National Jazz Scene Victoria on 30th October. This is the largest and most important stage for jazz in Norway, and the group’s last album release two years ago filled the hall to the brim with 450 spectators. The album will be the first to be released on Powell’s new label, Periscope, and is distributed through Musikkoperatørene. The cover was designed by musician/designer Jens Carelius and reflects the balance between freedom and control found in the music.

Hayden Powell is a trumpet player and composer based in Oslo. Powell is originally from England but moved to Norway as a child and grew up in Molde on the western fjords. He works in a variety of styles with an emphasis on jazz and improvised music, and released his debut album as a band leader, The Attic, in September 2011. Powell is also a member of the highly original brass quartet Magic Pocket, and has worked with Trondheim Jazz Orchestra as both a musician and composer. He has recorded and released music by artists as diverse as Iro Haarla, Solfrid Molland and Jens Carelius.

Eyolf Dale has released two solo albums in his own name of which the last, Hometown Interludes, was released earlier this autumn. He has also released several albums with the sax/piano duo Albatrosh (on Rune Grammofon), and has written music for Trondheim Jazz Orchestra.

Jo Skaansar is a highly sought-after bass player on the Norwegian jazz scene. In 2010, he released the album Den Blåaste Natt, featuring lyrics by Norwegian poet Edvard Hoem, and has contributed to a number of concerts and productions with musicians such as Trygve Seim, Per Jørgensen and Jon Larsen.

 HPT collage 1

Track list

1. Roots and Stems
2. Bassclarinetteblues 3. Skysailing
4. Maysong
5. Self-Calibration #3 6. Intro
7. Cuestions
8. Fougner
9. Folk
10. Quiet Exit



Produced by Hayden Powell
Recorded on 16th November 2012 at Rainbow Studio,
Oslo, by Peer Espen Ursfjord and Jan Erik Kongshaug
Mixed and mastered by Jan Erik Kongshaug at Rainbow Studio, Oslo Artwork by Jens Jørgen Carelius Krogsveen
All compositions by Hayden Powell, except Quiet Exit by Eyolf Dale