Hayden Powell // Circadian Rhythm & Blues

CRB 970x970

Hayden Powell: trumpet and firebird
Eyolf Dale: piano
Jo Skaansar: bass

Øyvind Røsrud Gundersen: electronics

Released September 25th 2015
Double cd, download, Streaming
Catalogue: PSK103

Listen Buy album

Circadian Rhythm & Blues is trumpeter Hayden Powell’s most personal and ambitious work to date. The double album kicks off with a set of tunes from Powell’s acousQc trio and continues into a new realm of solo improvisations, soundscapes and electronics.

The term Circadian Rhythm refers to the body’s internal clock and underlying cycles of sleep and metabolism. Circadian rhythms also respond to impulses such as light and temperature. There’s a similar duality in music. We all have our own aesthetics, but must relate to our surroundings, other musicians, the audience and our own feelings and aspirations. On this album, Powell and his ensemble guide us through a 24-hour cycle, with songs such as “Reveille”, “Late Night Politics” and “Sleepless”, all conveying a range of different moods.

Powell explains:
“In the summer of 2014 the trio started working on new tracks – we wanted to make something more extrovert and punchy. During the same period I started work on a solo album, which, for me, represents a long-held ambition in my development as a working musician. The two projects began to ripen simultaneously and ideas and inspirations were shared between them. Many of the basic musical ideas are similar but the end result has taken very different forms influenced by those with whom I’ve worked and by where I’ve been. Hence the reference to the concept of Circadian Rhythm, which I also find fascinating in its own sense”.

The trio section of “Circadian Rhythm & Blues” features Powell’s regular ensemble of recent years: pianist Eyolf Dale and bassist Jo Skaansar. Both are sensitive and intuitive musicians who provide an ideal partnership for Powell’s lyrical and dynamic trumpet playing. This part of the album was recorded in Copenhagen, during an intensive three-day stay in the studio The Village, with the engineer August Wanngren.

The solo part has been created in collaboration with producer Øyvind Røsrud Gundersen (Hanne Kolstø, Atlanta, Siri Nilsen) and recorded in Tøyen Church in Oslo – a room with a wonderful acoustic. The whole thing was mastered by Morgan Nicolaysen at Propeller Mastering. Jens Jørgen Carelius Krogsveen designed the cover, which includes images by the photographer Anne Valeur. The album will be released on Powell’s own label Periskop and is available on a double-CD and via digital streaming services.

Hayden Powell has previously released two albums, The Attic in 2011 and Roots and Stems in 2013.


Hayden2.3 2

Track list

Disc 1

Hayden Powell – trumpet
Eyolf Dale – piano
Jo Skaansar – double bass

01 Reveille
02 Truffles
03 Cobalt
04 Homework
05 The Cat’s Idea
06 Mascot
07 Guardian
08 Late Night Politics

Disc 2

Hayden Powell – trumpet and firebird

01 Suddenly Alone
02 Pepper-Upper
03 Red Sky at Night
04 Continuum
05 Crosswind
06 Sleepless
07 Cantillation
08 Ville de Montréal
09 Water Song
10 Cat in a Box
11 Wakeup Call (remix)


Executive Producer: Hayden Powell

Disc 1 recorded on February 8th-10th at The Village Studios, Copenhagen, by August Wanngren.
Mixed by August Wanngren at We Know Music Studios, Copenhagen.

Disc 2 recorded and mixed by Øyvind Røsrud Gundersen in Tøyen Kirke and Adamstuen during December 2014 and April 2015. Co-produced by Gundersen and Powell.

Mastered by Morgan Nicolaysen at Propeller Mastering, Oslo.

Artwork by Jens Jørgen Carelius Krogsveen. Photos by Anne Valeur.

All compositions by Hayden Powell except Mascot by Eyolf Dale.
Electronics on Sleepless by Øyvind Røsrud Gundersen.

Wakeup Call (remix) by Øyvind Røsrud Gundersen and Hayden Powell, based on recordings by Hayden Powell Trio.